Guides / Costs and conversions · Updated
Home warranty cost and coverage, compared
From each provider's own contract or price sheet, read November 2026. Terms differ by state and change often; read yours.
Short answer
Published prices run from about $360 a year (American Home Shield's starting price) to $885 (Old Republic's top California plan), plus a $100 to $200 fee every time a technician comes out. The bigger difference is in the fine print: HVAC caps run from $2,000 to none at all.
Prices and fees
| Provider | Published price | Service fee |
|---|---|---|
| American Home Shield | “Starting $29.99 per month” | You choose; sample shows $100 or $125 |
| Old Republic | 1 year: $450 (Silver) to $885 (Platinum) | $100 trade call fee |
| Cinch | Mid-Atlantic home buyer: $514 to $614 a year | $100 or $200 deductible |
| Liberty Home Guard | Sample shows $849.99 | Per claim, set in the agreement |
| Choice Home Warranty | Not published | Set in the agreement |
| Select Home Warranty | Not published | Set in the agreement |
| First American | Not in the contract | Set in the contract |
What they cover
| Provider | HVAC cap | Appliance cap | Waiting period | Pre-existing problems | Poor maintenance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Home Shield | $5,000 per system ($1,500 for glycol, hot water or steam) | $2,000 (Gold), $4,000 (Platinum); $50,000 per term in all | Set in the plan summary | Known pre-existing breakdowns excluded | Covers failures from insufficient maintenance, rust, sediment |
| Old Republic | “No dollar limit on HVAC units”; ductwork $1,000 | $3,000 (more with upgrades) | None for home sales; 30 days otherwise | Unknown conditions covered for home buyers; not for other homes | Not stated in the summary |
| Cinch | No cap on standard HVAC; $10,000 total per term (direct plan) | $2,000 per item | Not stated | Unknown ones covered if not visible on inspection | Excluded |
| Liberty Home Guard | $2,000 per item, up to its book value | $2,000 per item | 30 days | Known or unknown, excluded | Excluded |
| Choice Home Warranty | $3,000 per item per year | $3,000 per item per year | 30 days | Known or unknown, excluded | Excluded; records can be requested |
| Select Home Warranty | $3,000 a year | $500 a year (appliances, plumbing, electrical) | 30 days; no whole-system replacements in the first 30 | Excluded, including inspection findings | Excluded |
| First American | No general cap; specialty systems $1,500 | $3,500 per appliance (Starter, Essential) | Starts on the effective date | Unknown covered for home buyers; excluded at renewal and for others | Covers failures from lack of maintenance, rust, corrosion |
Every plan also lists exclusions for things like permits, code upgrades, refrigerant and haul-away; some add those back as paid options.
Questions to ask
Texas's licensing agency, TDLR, suggests asking before you buy:
- Is there a limit to how much the company will pay?
- Would a pre-existing condition void coverage?
California's Department of Insurance warns that "many buyers only discover the exclusions ... when they file a claim and have it denied." And you don't have to buy one when you buy a house; TDLR says so plainly.
Is it worth it for you?
The home warranty calculator weighs the plan's cost against the age of your heating, water heater and appliances, and whether you could cover a big bill yourself.
Where the numbers come from
- American Home Shield: Sample plan agreement, July 2024 (national)
- Old Republic: California plan 7.2 (12/2025), home buyers
- Cinch: Direct plan contract (CINCHP3) and Mid-Atlantic real estate brochure (05/2025)
- Liberty Home Guard: Sample policy
- Choice Home Warranty: Online user agreement
- Select Home Warranty: Online terms and conditions
- First American: California contract CS3T 03/24
- American Home Shield: plan cost
- Texas TDLR: residential service companies
- California Department of Insurance: home protection contracts